Latest News

Ireland beat 14-man England to win Grand Slam

Ireland (10) 29
Try: Sheehan 2, henshaw, herring Cons: Sexton 3 pen: Sexton
England (6) 16
try: George Cons: Farrell stomach: Farrell 3

Ireland dominated 14-man England in a tense Six Nations final in Dublin to win their fourth Grand Slam.

After Owen Farrell’s two early penalties put England ahead, Ireland fought back with a well-functioning Dan Sheehan try.

England’s hopes of an upset were dashed when Freddie Steward was sent off just before half-time.

Robbie Henshaw and Rob Herring tried on either side of Sheehan’s second match to give Ireland its first Grand Slam in five years and its first in Dublin.

England have improved greatly from last week’s humiliating defeat by France at Twickenham, scoring a well-deserved second-half try from Jamie George but failing to pull off a big upset, ruining Ireland’s big day. .

As they have done so many times under Andy Farrell, Ireland found their way to victory despite being tested by a resilient English side, with talismanic captain Johnny Sexton in the final. gave a perfect send-off in a Six Nations match.

With the full-time whistle blowing at the Aviva Stadium, the home side were greeted with jubilant celebrations as they fulfilled a big promise to enter the competition as the best team in the world.

Irish tensions emerge in the first half

Tensions inside the Aviva Stadium began at first as Ireland planned a dream finale to a memorable campaign as France could be confirmed as champions before kick-off ended with a 41-28 victory over Wales. It was clear from

But after last week’s record-breaking blow by France, few gave England a chance to spoil the Irish party, but it was the visitors who calmed down faster.

Their reward was two penalties, both scored by Farrell.

Ireland, clearly nervous, had to wait until the 18th minute to score their first goal. But it was a big one as Sexton slammed a penalty between the sticks to surpass Ronan O’Gara as the tournament’s record scorer.

More to come.

Ireland: Keenan; Hansen, Henshaw, Aki, Lowe. Sexton (Captain), Gibson Park. Porter, Sheehan, Furlong. Baird, Ryan. O’Mahoney, van der Fryer, Doris.

Replacement: Herring, Healy, O’Toole, Treadwell, Conan, Murray, R Byrne, O’Brien.

England: Stewards; Watson, Slade, Tuiragi, Arundel. Farrell (c), Van Poortvliet; Genji, George, Sinkler, Itoje, Libbane, Ludlum, Willis, Donbrandt.

Replacement: Walker, M Vnipola, Cole, Izikwe, B Curry, Mitchell, Smith, Merchant.

Source link

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button